What made me want to be  a Unicorn Developer?

What made me want to be a Unicorn Developer?

ยท

3 min read

The Programming Aspect ๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿ’ป


"Is it for me โ‰๏ธ"

I had taken up Computer Programming as my elective subject in my Senior Secondary School. I was struggling with it in the first few months, and wanted to change my elective to Fine Arts.

I was very much interested in ARTS(Drawing /Painting) in my Secondary School.(Keep this in mind for later ๐Ÿ˜…)

I was convinced by my teacher to give Programming a little more time and effort, to which I agreed.


Around a year and a half later, I still wasn't sure if I was made for Computer Programming...

All we were doing were single file programs... and while it was the basics , I did not know that I had hunger for MORE!


My First * Actual* Project ๐Ÿ’ป

During the final assessment of the subject, we were required to build a project with C++ and were given previous projects for reference( the reference was a hospital management if I remember correctly )

And it was AWESOME ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ’ฏ

It had a colored menu, with back button and so much stuff to play around with and I was amazed by the SCOPE OF IT ๐Ÿคฏ๐Ÿคฏ๐Ÿคฏ


I would come back from school, have lunch, and would just spend the rest of the day trying a bunch of stuff out.

I spent DAYS debugging, understanding everything I could and made a PERIODIC TABLE, a QUIZ and MCQ in it..

Periodic Table User Screen.png

Periodic Table Element.png

Periodic Table Exit Screen.png


And I knew, this is what I wanted to do.


I got admission into my graduation in Computer Science and Engineering, made a couple of games (Snake, Bingo etc...) in my early days of college and I soon came to know about Web Dev.

Bingo.png


I was recommended to learn DJANGO by a senior, as Full Stack Development was in demand. At this point, I was very new to Web Development

I utilized my summer holidays learning about Python and SQL.. as these were prerequisites before jumping on Django.

The Design Aspect ๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ

In one of the Django tutorials from the New Boston, he started using Bootstrap and it really caught my eye.

I started exploring more of Bootstrap and Material Design Bootstrap and I did use them a LOT.

"My Design Sucks !!! ๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿคฆ๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ"

I am MARVEL Fanboy, so I started making a whole database for Movies, TV Series , Quotes and MUCH MORE to make a full fledged website.

Still want to do if we are being honest ๐Ÿ˜…

But as the website progressed, I realized that I lacked a lot on the DESIGN (UI as well as UX) part of the website.

Movies.jpg

Posts.jpg


Learning Website Design satisfied my inner Artist and I got better as time went by.

I immediately LOVED Web development because I found the perfect marriage for Problem Solving( CODE ) & my passion for Art (DESIGN)

I Designed and Developed a couple of client projects from scratch and even redesigned one of them the next year.

GenQuest --Initial Design (2019)

Classic Genquest.png

GenQuest --Redesign (2020)

GenQuest2020.png


WhiteGraphs --Design (2020)

White Graphs.png


Unicorn Developer.png


And that is how aUnicornDev came to be. ๐Ÿฆ„

Thanks for Reading ๐Ÿ˜Š

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Yashasvi Singh by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย